The importance of patient consent

I used to work in the surgical recovery unit at a major hospital in my community. While there, I was trained about the importance of patient consent. Hospitals can be scary places. Patients are surrounded by strangers and the outcomes of surgery are never guaranteed. I was taught that talking a patient through what is happening is an important part of compassionate care.

In the surgical recovery unit where I worked, nursing assistants like me would talk to our patients – even if they still appeared to be unconscious from the anesthesia. Whether it was changing a patient into a fresh gown or doing a blood sugar check, we talked the patient through every step. I wish I had been given this level of compassionate care when I was admitted to the emergency room one autumn afternoon in 2013.

Instead, treatment was forced on me without my knowledge or consent even though I was fully lucid and awake. For years, I wondered why I was not worthy of that kind of care. It took me a long time in therapy, support groups, and personal reflection to understand that the way I was treated was never a mark or measure of my own character. Rather, it says so much more about the people who treated me with cruelty and cold indifference.

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. This is more the norm, I’m afraid.

    Reply
    • Unfortunately, I think you are right. If the standard if patient care is “assumed consent” – that needs to change.

      Reply

Leave a comment